Our Members

Deakin University


Deakin University was established by the Deakin University Act 1974. It was the first university in regional Victoria. The primary objectives for Deakin University’s establishment were to create a university in the Geelong area and to provide an opportunity for tertiary education at university level to all qualified persons whether within or outside Victoria by means of distance education programs. Deakin University’s first campus was established at Waurn Ponds in 1979.

The teaching and research activities of Deakin University now reach nationally and internationally, but the University retains a particular commitment to rural and regional communities and to providing equitable opportunities for people to enjoy the benefits that flow from participation in higher education. Deakin University aims to be a catalyst for positive change for the individuals and the communities it serves. It aspires to be recognised as Australia’s most progressive university.

The Centre for Sustainable and Responsible Organisations is key to the sustainability message as it brings together researchers from a variety of disciplines to better understand and promote long-term sustainable and responsible organisational behaviour. This is achieved through research and dialogue with various stakeholders including the research community, business leaders, policy advisors and the public at large.